Style Icon: Gloria Steinem |

gloriasteinem_styleicon_katieoffduty_7
How does one write about a great female social activist’s style without it coming off diminishing?

This internal struggle has been swirling around in my mind before and as I begin to try and accomplish that exact thing. Gloria Steinem is a woman worth much more digital coverage than the fact she has mastered a defined look and style.

I have always been a little emotionally detached from the women’s rights movement and I blame it on the fact that sometimes I think it’s hard to truly try and connect with history. To me learning about the past through a text book is like seeing the old world through rose colored glasses—a little fuzzy.

Recently having watched the HBO documentary about Gloria Steinem and the women’s right movement, to revisit the issue as a more mature person carries more weight to me today. I can more accurately envision what was and how activists like Gloria Steinem have done so much, and sadly, what we all still have left to do.

I feel compelled to talk about Gloria Steinem’s style because ultimately I admire her. I admire her work, I admire her mission, I admire her over sized glasses and big belts and streaked hair.

I admire how her iconic look has become a symbol of the pursuit of human equality.

So to me when I look at Gloria Steinem as a ‘style icon’, in that way it could never be degrading. Her style is unassuming, it’s comfortable and it’s everything this country needs.

gloriasteinem_styleicon_katieoffduty_11gloriasteinem_styleicon_katieoffduty_6gloriasteinem_styleicon_katieoffduty_3gloriasteinem_styleicon_katieoffduty_5gloriasteinem_styleicon_katieoffduty_1
American feminist writer Gloria Steinem in her Manhattan apartment, New York City, March 1992. (Photo by Michael Brennan/Getty Images)

3 thoughts on “Style Icon: Gloria Steinem |

  1. It is because of women like her that we all enjoy a more equal life. I am recently paying attention to Alicia Keys, another beautiful woman who is leading others along on the path to self acceptance and therefore equality. Both these women have important things to say. Gloria, that it is OK to be a thinking, working, beautiful person. Alicia, who is lovely to look at, is also keenly aware of cultural bias toward women (leaving her ethnicity out of it for now) and has decided no longer to wear makeup. She is statement making, not judging. She stated she loves her blusher, her lip gloss, her eyeliner, and has no problem with makeup or if other women want to wear it. She just feels that in her life she no longer wants to be a representation of some conjured image of beauty. Conjured by media, conjured by those in our culture who have more power, more clout. She wants all people to be free to express themselves as each of us sees fit. Hurrah for these kinds of women.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

